# SE KMEA Summer Board Meeting Minutes June 10, 2011 Pittsburg, KS

The SE District held their annual summer board meeting at "The Corner Bistro", Pittsburg, KS on Friday, June 10. The meeting was called to order and facilitated by Gae Phillips, SE District President.

# **Reports**

Reports were given by all of the chairs. Officers present at the meeting were: Dawn Bailey, Andrea Sladky, Dan Wooge, Greta Adams, Linda Evans, James Fox, John Womeldorff, Christa Weber, and Ray Essington. Rhonda Allen and Gary McCarty were unable to attend due to a conflict. As reported by the chair-persons, all clinicians have been secured for the 2011-12 year.

## **Participation Fees**

The officers conceded to raise the participation fees of the January groups from \$4.00 to \$5.00 matching the November participation fees. Consequently, all SE KMEA District participation fees will be \$5.00 per student.

## **Choir Committee**

It was decided to form a committee to improve and determine the audition process for the choir. The committee consists of Dawn Bailey, Greta Adams, Mark Gard, and Gae Phillips. The time and place of the meeting will be determined at a later date by the Choir Chair.

#### **Event Facilities**

High School Mini-Convention (Band/Choir/Orchestra)

- O It was decided that the December High School Honor's Group Mini-Convention be held at Labette County High School. Scott Allison will serve as facilities coordinator. A meeting will be held in September at Labette County High School to coordinate and schedule the use of the facility for the event. Date of the meeting will be determined later by the President.
- Some discussion was held on the possibility of using Pittsburg Memorial Auditorium or Parsons Municipal Auditorium for the 2012-13 December event. The discussion was tabled and will be brought up at the September meeting.

## High School Jazz

o The Honor's Jazz Band will be held at Burlington High School. Dan Wooge will coordinate the facilities for the event.

# Elementary/Middle School Event

o The Elementary and Middle School Honor's Groups will rehearse and perform at Yates Center. Ben and Marcia Bricker will serve as facilities coordinator for the event.

## **Outstanding Educator Nominations**

The following were nominated for outstanding SE KMEA Educators. Nominations will be open through August as information must be turned into the state board by October 1. Susan Laushman, Pittsburg High School Virginia Darling, Pittsburg Middle School Allison Russell, Garnett Elementary David Grover, Iola High School

# **SE KMEA Director Database**

The database of director contact information was reviewed. Information was exchanged on new hires and vacancies throughout the SE district.

Minutes Respectfully Submitted by Gae Phillips SE KMEA District President